ACHD Commissioners

2010 Commission Election

John Franden, the incumbent in Sub-District 3, and Dave Case, one of five candidates vying for the open Sub-District 4 seat, won four-year terms on November 2, 2010 on the ACHD Commission. Franden -- who represents northern Ada County, and Case, who will represent southwest Ada County -- will be sworn into office when their terms begin in January.

Results are available at the Ada County web site, which has the full, but unofficial, tally from the Elections Office.


Nine candidates ran for two seats on the ACHD Commission on the November 2, 2010 ballot. Two of the five Commission seats -- sub-districts No. 3, northern Ada County, and No. 4, south and southwest Ada County -- are part of the General Election. The other seats will appear on the ballot in 2012.

The candidates for Sub-District 3 were:

  • Cleveland C. Corder -- Garden City
  • John S. Franden -- Eagle
  • Mark Sparling -- Boise

The candidates for Sub-District 4 were:

  • Dave Case -- Meridian
  • L.D. (Zeke) Corder -- Kuna
  • Mitch Jaurena -- Meridian
  • David W. Klinchuch -- Kuna (Candidate withdrew from the race but name will appear on the ballot.)
  • David St. George -- Kuna
  • Jack Van Wyk -- Meridian

Voters cast ballots for the Commission seat representing the area where they live. Click here for a map of the ACHD Commission Sub-Districts.

In each sub-district race, the candidate getting the most votes will be the winner -- a majority is not required.

In the Sub-District 3 race, Franden is the incumbent commissioner facing off against Corder and Sparling.  In the Sub-District 4 race, incumbent Sherry Huber is stepping down, which may have spawned the large field of candidates.

The Idaho Statesman has published a voter's guide which includes information on the ACHD races; here are the links to the Sub-District 3 and Sub-District 4 races. Also, the North End Neighborhood Association newsletter includes information about two of the District 3 candidates (page 6).

The ACHD Commission has five members who serve four-year terms. Commission seats are non-partisan, local government offices and do not appear on the primary ballot in May. The compensation for the part-time post is a monthly stipend of $1,686. The president of the Commission, chosen annually from among the Commissioners, receives an additional $338 per month.

The Commission sets policy for the District, the only countywide highway agency in Idaho, which serves all of the residents of Ada County, including residents of the incorporated cities. The Commissioners generally meet on the first four Wednesdays of each month, excluding holidays.

The ACHD Elections are administered by the Ada County Elections Office, an arm of the Ada County Clerk's Office. Additional information about the race can be obtained by calling the Elections Office at 287-6860 or by emailing

To qualify to run for the ACHD Commission, a candidate must:

Idaho Code 40-1404A prevents county commissioners, mayors and city council members from holding office on a countywide highway district commission, such as ACHD.

Once the form is filed, the Secretary of the ACHD Commission will furnish a candidate information packet containing additional rules (the naming of a campaign treasurer) and deadlines (campaign disclosures, etc.) regarding the candidate's run for office. For more information about the reporting requirements and other election information please see the Secretary of State's election page.

If you need additional information about the ACHD Commission election, please contact Craig Quintana at 387-6107 or at