Ada County Highway District

Your Commissioners

District 1

Image of Commissioner Hansen

Jim Hansen

Jim Hansen was elected to the Commission in 2012 and re-elected in 2016. A graduate of the College of William and Mary and University of Idaho Law School, he began his legal career as an intern for Idaho Attorney General Jim Jones in 1984, before serving as a law clerk for Chief Justice Charles Donaldson of the Idaho Supreme Court from 1985 to 1986 and practicing law with Givens Pursley from 1985 to 1991. He was elected to the Idaho Legislature in 1988, representing southeast Boise. He was re-elected in 1990 and 1992. In 1995 Hansen founded United Vision for Idaho, a coalition of organizations to empower participation in democracy and served as its first executive director. Hansen has been married to Joan Cartan-Hansen since 1990. They have two children.

District 2

Image of Commissioner Arnold

Rebecca W. Arnold

Rebecca W. Arnold was elected to the Commission in 2004 and re-elected in 2008, 2012, and 2016. Arnold is an attorney and accountant, having worked for Albertsons and other area businesses. Besides holding elected office, Arnold has been active in the community, working on behalf of the Susan G. Komen For the Cure foundation and for a variety of other charities. She lives on the Boise bench and represents District 2, Central Ada County.

District 3

Image of Commissioner May

Mary May
1st Vice President

Mary May was elected to the ACHD Commission in 2018. May was born and raised in Idaho and is an experienced community leader with a history of working in the public relations and communications industries. She has experience in Legislative/Governmental Partnerships, Education, Management, Business Planning, Conflict Resolution, Community Relationships, and Nonprofit Organizations. May has served on several non-profit Boards and Committees including having been President of the College of Western Idaho Foundation Board of Directors, Vice-President of the Eagle Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, the Education Foundation of the West Ada School District, and the Boise Metro Chamber of Commerce Transportation Committee. She is a sustaining member for the Junior League of Boise, and remains on the board for the Special Olympics of Idaho. May has a B.A. from the University of Northern Colorado, and completed graduate work at Gonzaga University and Boise State University. May has been a resident of Eagle for over 20 years and has two adult children.

District 4

Image of Commissioner Goldthorpe

Kent Goldthorpe

Kent Goldthorpe was elected to the ACHD Commission in November 2014 and re-elected in 2018. Goldthorpe has lived in Idaho for 40 years and is an avid outdoorsman. He studied biology and business at the University of Utah. Goldthorpe has also held various capacities within Republican Party; is a Meridian Parks & Recreation Commissioner; serves as a Board Member for Idaho DECA, and remains a volunteer leader for the Boy Scouts of America. The commissioner and his wife, Rina, have seven children and seventeen grandchildren.

District 5

Image of Commissioner Baker

Sara Baker
2nd Vice President

Sara Baker was elected to the Commission in 2008 and re-elected in 2012 and 2016. Baker has lived in Ada County for 31 years. She and her husband owned and operated a successful business in the Treasure Valley for 22 years. From 1985 to 2001, Baker was a Boise City Councilperson. During that time she was Council President Pro-Tem, Council President and Acting Mayor. She was a member and Chairman of the Capitol City Development Corporation from 1985 to 1993 during which time Boise's downtown was successfully turned around from its 20 years of vacant lots and deteriorated buildings. Baker was a member and Chairman of the Ada County Air Quality Board and has been a member of COMPASS, the Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho. Baker has a Bachelor's in Political Science from Virginia Tech and has completed coursework for a Master’s of Urban Planning at Virginia Tech.

We Drive Quality Transportation For All Ada County ~

Ada County Highway District © 2017
For Questions or problems with this Web site contact the Webmaster