News & Press Releases

Wednesday, January 07, 2015
Jim Hansen chosen to lead ACHD Commission

Garden City – Jim D. Hansen will be the president of the Ada County Highway District for 2015, appointed by a vote of the ACHD Commission on Wednesday.

"ACHD will continue to provide good service to the taxpayers, and we will strengthen our partnerships with the other local governments in Ada County," Hansen said. "Things work best when we are all working together. It’s what the citizens want, and it’s what we will provide."    
The president is chosen annually by the commissioners to lead the District and to set the commission meeting agenda, among other duties.
In addition to choosing the president, commissioners on Wednesday also named Sara M. Baker as Vice President. Baker will serve as president in case of Hansen’s absence.

Before the meeting, new Commissioners Kent Goldthorpe and Paul Woods were sworn into office. Goldthorpe and Woods were elected in November.    

ACHD is the only countywide highway district in Idaho, established in 1971 as an independent government entity by a vote of the people. ACHD covers the entire county, including the six cities within it, and is responsible for the maintenance and improvements to Ada County's local roads and bridges.

The District is responsible for more than 2,260 miles of roads, bridges and intersections with an estimated value of $3 billion.

Printable Version